Worms, Herbs, and Other Things


Yes I know a lot of my posts have been about the worms , but I have more this time! I told you that I wanted to plant some herbs right? Well I finally did it! I also cheated and bought some plants. We planted: Rosemary, Basil, Cilantro, and Parsley seeds. We bought, Rosemary, Cilantro, Lavender, Lemon Balm, and Basil plants to get started. The dirt I used was from our worm compost. This stuff was super fertile! But it was very difficult to get all of the baby worms and eggs out of. The original dirt has now turned into dark black, clumpy compost. It was wet when I started separating and filling the pots but also a little hard.

I read and watched a video about sifting through your compost to make it light and fluffy for planting. It also helps to separate the worms out. Unfortunately there isn’t a very easy way to get the eggs out because they are so tiny. So some of them were sacrificed. Well they made it into the pots anyway. I read this after I had already filled my little herb pots. :/

I had looked up a bunch of different ways to grow your herbs and I finally picked one! Here is what ours looks like:

Wall Of Herbs and Buddy. ;)
Wall Of Herbs and Buddy. 😉

I love it! Hubby of course made it for me using a 2×4 and some rope. It was super easy to make and looks great on my front porch! For the labels on the pots I used Chalk board spray paint:

2015-05-02 16.04.15

As you can see I had already been using it and made a mess. I did not spend a ton of time trying to make the lines perfect and you may find an easier way to do it, but for mine I used painter’s tape:

Like this.
Like this.

Then just prayed. Now, you need to know, this stuff runs! Bad. So make sure that your tape is secured tight.

2015-05-02 16.04.09

Not the neatest thing ever but it will do.
Not the neatest thing ever but it will do.

Now they are ready to be written on.

So about the compost, after reading about sifting I asked Matt to make me one. This also turned out to be an easy project. A little time consuming, but easy! First your materials:

Hardware Cloth

He had started before I could get home to take pics...
He had started before I could get home to take pics…

Screws

Wood glue

2015-05-05 17.27.40

2X4

Drill

In the making...
In the making…
Finished!
Finished!

It worked great but we have learned a thing or two. Finished compost is wet and hard. So instead of sifting through it to use as potting soil, I am going to try compost tea. No I have no intention of drinking this tea. But my plants will love it! First I have read that using city water with chlorine in it is not recommended. The chlorine will kill off vital bacteria that your plants need. But that’s all we have. City water. So the suggestion was to fill a bucket up with the water and sit it in the sun for about two days. The sun will evaporate the chemicals and leave you with fresh water. The next step is to put the finished compost in the water and let it steep in a dark place for 5-7 days. Strain it, then pour this liquid gold into your garden! I’m gonna give it a try and let you know how it goes.

By the way…if you loved my hanging garden but don’t feel like making it yourself, holla. The hubs and I will do it for you!

2 thoughts on “Worms, Herbs, and Other Things”

Leave a Reply

