Living The Simple Kind Of Life


Ok so by now you all have discovered that I like to do it myself right? I want so much to live as simply as I can. At the risk of sounding 90 years old may I say that all of these new fangled gadgets and gizmos are great for emergencies but…all day everyday? (As I use my computer right? Ha!) It’s rather sad really. I remember a much simpler time when if you were not home you had an answering machine that took messages and the person on the other end had to wait for you to call back. It was a lot less stressful wasn’t it? We would play outside until dark and used our imaginations. Ahhh to go back…

Anyway all that to say this…we planted a garden…again. We honestly haven’t had all that much success in the past because…erm…life is busy. This year however WILL be different! It has to be! If for no other reason then I just said it has to be!

So last Saturday was beautiful here in middle GA! We stayed outside for most of the day drinking up the sunshine ad getting our garden started. We had put in a raised garden bed last year but while in the process of moving all of our plants died. 😦 So this year we used it again.

First we put this great stuff called Black Kow  from Lowe’s on top of the old soil:

Black Cow

Then we put the cheapest potting soil with fertilizer in on top of that. Then Black Kow, then potting soil.  This will revitalize the old soil and nourish our veggies.Then we planted the seeds directly into the dirt.  No plants this time. We have always just planted the plant so I’m a little nervous about this. Weird huh? Seeds are supposed to just grow right?

So here is what it looks like so far:

Pretty cool huh?
Pretty cool huh?

As you can see I marked each square with what looks like a wooden paint stirrer. Actually it’s left over slats from some crates we made at Christmas, but that’s neither here nor there. We planted cucumbers, broccoli, carrots, beets, tomatoes, peppers, green beans, and onions. Yep that all fit in that tiny garden. By the way it’s 4ftX4ft raised garden.  I am super excited and I really want it to work this time! I also plan to plant a small hanging herb garden. I will keep you updated on that one!

I will post more pics when they pop up!

 

Do you have a garden? Do you have a green thumb? Do you have some great do’s and don’ts? Please leave a comment and share!

Leave a Reply

