Better Body Butter


Hello all! I am so excited about this new discovery of mine. It’s not new to being discovered, mind you , but new to me.  Pure, all natural, Cocoa butter body butter! Whew! I dare ya to try saying that 5 times fast. Anyway back to this hahmazing product. As many of you know I am a Cosmetology Instructor at the local Tech school. It was there, during one of my classes that I got the inspiration. I had assigned a project for each of my students. They had to create their own line of facial products from all natural ingredients and then present it to the class trying to ‘sell’ it. One of them used cocoa butter and I have to say it smelled and felt amazing! So I got on Amazon and ordered raw cocoa butter to try. Here is the link if you want to buy your own: Cocoa Butter Amazon I have experimented with 100% raw Shea Butter as well but…well it had a rather…earthy smell. Yea earthy sounds good. But the Cocoa Butter? Smells like Chocolate! Holy cow what women doesn’t like chocolate?? Ok I’m done here’s what I did: First you need to get you ingredients together. I used 100% cocoa butter, 100% organic coconut oil, and pure virgin olive oil. Now you can also add some Essential oils to your batch if you would like to. I happen to like the smell so for now I am sticking with it. I may try some other oils out later.

Yep, just three all natural ingredients!
Yep, just three all natural ingredients!

Then gather your tools. I used a double boiler to melt down the butter. Cocoa butter comes in a hard form as does the coconut oil. You also need a spoon, a metal or glass mixing bowl, an electric mixer.  And now you are ready. I need to warn you…I am bad at measuring things. So I really don’t have a recipe. Oops. But here is a round about figure. I used about 75% cocoa butter,  20% coconut oil, and 5% olive oil. I wanted to only make a little to get started. I suggest you do the same so that you can adjust things as you need or see fit. No need to waste! 😉 Measure your butter and oils in the double boiler and heat until the butter has melted.

It's melting, melting, melting...
It’s melting, melting, melting…

 

Totally melted.
Totally melted.

Pour it carefully into a glass or metal bowl and place in the freezer for approx  20 minutes.

This is what it looks like after 20 Minutes in the freezer.
This is what it looks like after 20 Minutes in the freezer.

If the mixture is to hot it will not whip. If its to cold it will not whip. Trust me you will know when it is ready. Now its time to whip it! Whip it good! Oh…erm… Ok so there are two ways you can do this. You can use a wire whisk and do it by hand or with an electric mixer. I chose electricity baby! It only takes a minute or two and it is whipped into a pretty, yummy looking treat. Oh wait I said it’s natural but I don’t think I’d eat it. Did I mention it smells like chocolate?

Whipped yumminess!
Whipped yumminess!

Now grab a pretty and clean container and scoop it in there. Make sure to store it in a cool place so that it stays whipped and it will last for months. I have to tell ya though, when you first put it on it seems kind of weird. It immediately turns back into an oil as soon as it touches your skin. But then, BOOM it absorbs within a few minutes! This stuff is awesome! If you decide to make some of your own please let me know. I would love to hear all about it! Enjoy!

The finished product. I am quite pleased.
The finished product. I am quite pleased.

Here is some more info on the benefits of cocoa butter, coconut oil, and olive oil for your skin: Cocoa Butter Coconut Oil  Olive Oil

Leave a Reply

