It’s A Shirr Thing


This one was given to me by a lil Birdie down the street. (Ms Ruth.) šŸ˜‰

Image

I love that it is knit! I like the blue, the flowers, everything but the shape. I have never been a fan of these type dresses for myself. It just doesn’t seem to flatter me. Anywho I decided to cut the top from the bottom and give it a good shirring. For those of you who don’t know what shirring is let me tell ya. Have you seen those wonderful stretchy topped dress everyone is wearing? The ones that kind of ruffle? Well that my friend is shirring. Did you know that you can do this yourself and that it is super duper easy? All you need is some elastic thread on the bobbin and regular thread on the top. I hand wound mine around the bobbin but some machines have a setting that you can use to wind it. Ā The easiest thing to do is google your machines make and model and the type shirring along with it to find out how your machine works with elastic thread. I set my stitched to the longest stitch and that worked best for me. I have also heard that some machines need you to set the bottom to the longest as well.Ā 

Ok so to get started I hemmed my raw edges and then got rid of the pockets. Then I started my shirring below the hem line. You can make yours 1/4 in. to 1/2 in. apart. I didn’tĀ measureĀ mine I just used my presser foot as a guide. Now make sure your lines are as straight as you can get them. Also save yourself some time and snip those extra threads as you go. Trust me you will thank yourself later. At first it may not look like it is shirring right. Keep going it will start to show up I promise! I decided to only do 17 rows but you can do as many as you want. I stopped every eight or so to rewind my bobbin. Elastic thread goes faster thanĀ regular.Ā 

Image

Happy shirring!

Leave a Reply

