Thrift shopping and refashioning is so addictive!


So I’m still really new at refashioning. I got started only about a month ago. But so far I love it! I love that I have a new wardrobe and the most I have spent on one item was maybe $5! It’s also nice knowing that I am doing my part in keeping these old clothes out of the landfills and thus saving the environment. I hope that through this blog I can encourage others to do the same. It is so rewarding to make or refashion something and then have people comment on how neat your clothes are. I love seeing their faces when they find out that I refashioned it from an old ugly something! Seriously you should try it!

These are hard times. Gas prices seem to keep going up making everything else go up. People are trying hard to spend less money these days. But women are notorious for wanting, even needing, new clothes and shoes. So why not thrift shop? I have never been to proud to wear a hand me down. In fact I love telling people how much I paid for one of my frocks! Just yesterday I bought two skirts that were in perfect condition for $.25 each!  How cool is that? 

It’s tons of fun when you have a partner. It helps to keep those creative juices flowing to have a second opinion. My mom is my partner. She has a great eye for style and being a seasoned seamstress she knows the quality of a piece of fabric just by looking at it. She is great to shop with!

 

ImageHere’s my mom showing off her $.25 top. Isn’t she cute?

If you have seen  the Earth Goddess Dress then you know my dad joined us yesterday. Trust me when I say thrift shopping is not his bag! He gets bored so easily. But yesterday even his creative mind got to going. He was looking through the skirts trying to find something for me to refashion. We had a great time!

So get out there and start thrift shopping. Do something good for yourself and the environment. You will get addicted I promise.

Image

 Thrifting together.  🙂

Leave a Reply

